Hi there! This post is all about romance ❤  These are my 5 favourite romances from either books, films or both! Some are blatantly obvious (which doesn’t stop me from loving them any less) and some are perhaps less obvious but still well worth a mention. This list is in no particular order!

1. Eleanor and Park

Okay, so I know this is one that everyone knows, but if you’ve read the book, you just can’t help loving them! For those of you who haven’t read ‘Eleanor and Park’ by Rainbow Rowell, these two characters are beyond cute and their romance just makes you want to smile. All the time. Both are what would be described as ‘misfits’ but when they find each other it is just the cutest romance ever! I think I’ve read this book about three times now and the romance still gets me every time!

2. Demelza and Ross

I think these two characters would have to be my all time favourite characters anyway but when they came together my life was just about complete. Demelza and Ross feature in Winston Graham’s series of books about the Poldark family, an aristocratic family who live in Cornwall. There are 12 books in the series and the first two, ‘Ross Poldark’ and ‘Demelza’, are amazing. There’s also an amazing recent, as well as 1970s, TV series covering these first two books (with the next series coming out in September 🙂 ) and despite the third book crying out to me from my shelf, I cannot bear to read it before the second series comes out! The way Winston Graham creates these characters makes them instantly likeable and, despite the fact that both have awful tempers and their romance is not without its problems, you can’t help but love the chemistry between them and their romance is without a doubt one of my favourites- both in the TV series, and in the books!

3. Sarah and Derek

This one is a bit random, but after watching the film ‘Save the Last Dance’ at a friend’s house the other day, I couldn’t not include it. Sarah and Derek are very different and they come from different worlds, which makes their romance all the more difficult- and cute. Sarah is a ballet dancer who moves to a new high school full of people completely different to her. She finds it difficult to fit in and Derek agrees to help her. This involves among other things teaching Sarah how to dance ‘hip hop’ and how to slouch in a chair! As I was watching the film I fell in love with Derek myself and their romance is so lovely. I also absolutely love the actor Julia Stiles and thought there was great chemistry between Derek and Sarah in a way that made their romance adorable to watch.

4. Elizabeth and Darcy

This is clearly an old one- everyone loves Elizabeth and Darcy- but I couldn’t resist putting it in there nonetheless! I must confess, I STILL haven’t read ‘Pride and Prejudice’! It has been one of those books that I’ve wanted to read since forever, but I still haven’t got round to it! However, I have seen the television series and love it to bits and I love the romance between Lizzy and Darcy- the way they argue but still love each other is adorable to watch on-screen and, when I get round to reading the book, is most likely adorable to read about! I watched this hilarious clip on Sparknotes the other day which was about Darcy’s ‘tips’ for wooing a woman and I couldn’t stop laughing. I think that’s what’s so great about Darcy, he’s so proud and standoff-ish, but you can tell that really he loves Elizabeth. Darcy and Elizabeth are both loveable characters!

5. Mary and Jem

Anyone who knows me knows how much I love Daphne Du Maurier (look out for my next review, on ‘Rebecca’…) and I recently finished ‘Jamaica Inn’, a tale of smugglers and suspicion. But what I loved about the book was the romance that ran throughout it. It was a classic case of Mary pretending to hate Jem but despite this, I loved the way she clearly was falling for him, and I couldn’t help but fall in love with him too! The fact that he was a ‘criminal’ and was supposedly dangerous just made him all the more exciting and, despite Mary’s lamenting about his criminal activities, I believe this was something she loved about him too. I also loved the ending of this book and it was one of those endings that made me smile and breathe a sigh of relief!

So there you have it! My 5 favourite romances up to this point- from books and films and TV series’, and very often all three! Comment below to let me know your favourite literary romances or what you think should have been on my list! Believe me, I could have added a lot more than 5!!

Happy reading!

 

Currently reading: ‘Far From the Madding Crowd’ by Thomas Hardy

