Hi there! I only just published my post on Film Review:’La Haine’ which I really enjoyed writing (in two languages!!) but the brilliant avathenerd nominated me for the Fall (or in my case Autumn 😉 ) activities book tag and it looked really interesting so thought I’d also give it a go, so thank you for nominating me!

Apple Picking- a book on your ‘to be read’ list that you can’t wait to take a bite out of!

That’s a difficult one- there are so many books I want to read at the moment that sound great. I think I would have to go for ‘The Black Ring’, which is the third in a dystopian trilogy by Amy Ewing, after ‘The Jewel’ and ‘The White Rose.’ I am really not a fan of dystopian fiction or of trilogies so when I started this I was skeptical, but I actually really got into the series and I am buzzing for the third book to finally come out in the library, although I’m something like fifth in the queue for it, so this might be a long wait 🙂

Corn Maze- a book that’s so much fun to get lost in!

Another difficult one! I would go for something like the Poldark series or a book such as Review: ‘Rebecca’ by Daphne Du Maurier. I can hear you all groaning at another mention of Du Maurier (there will be a post soon about just her to get it off my chest, I promise!) but with these two kinds of book I can just imagine myself on the beaches of Cornwall, in the place of the characters. Whenever I feel low I can just read some- any- Poldark and I am Demelza running along a beach in Cornwall, which is a great quality in a book!

Haunted Houses- a book that scared you silly!

I really do not read many scary books as they are just that- scary! But I would say books such as ‘Birthmarked’ by Caragh M. O’Brien and ‘The Jewel’ by Amy Ewing are scary as they imagine a future so real it could actually be true. When I can actually imagine myself in a dystopian world is when it becomes the most scary, making you think about the world today.

Pumpkin Patches- the latest book you bought!

I think the latest book I’ve bought is ‘Karren Brady: Strong Woman’, which I picked up from a charity shop ages ago, but the latest book I got out from the library (which is basically my book shop!) was ‘The Thousandth Floor’ by Katharine McGee, which I picked up after a recommendation from Queen Mery@My Parisian Bookshelf . So far it’s a pretty good book!

Scenic Drives- a book that is lyrically beautiful!

There are so many great, beautiful books that I am not ashamed to say I have written quotes from before. At the moment I am loving the writing of Sylvia Plath and, although she wrote just the one book, who knows what she could have gone on to accomplish? Her writing style has a very realistic style that everyone can relate to and I think she is a brilliant, beautiful writer.

Pumpkin Carving- a book you didn’t like and wouldn’t mind carving up!

Noooo, I can’t answer this, it’s too difficult. There have been plenty of books I haven’t liked but I would hate to go against another author as another person may love a book I hate. I’m sorry, I just can’t shame another author, it’s too wrong, despite my somewhat cruel Review: ‘Fangirl’ by Rainbow Rowell 😉

Hiking- a book that was a highly enjoyable romp!

I’m not too sure, maybe something like ‘Testament of Youth’ by Vera Brittain, as it was a hard book to endure reading and it was very, very long but I got there in the end and on the whole enjoyed it! ‘The Well of Loneliness’ by Radcliffe Hall is another example of a hike. Actually, reading was a bit like a hike- I loved it to start with and I had loads of energy for it and then I started to drift away as the storyline disintegrated and I ended up tired and annoyed by the ending….

Drinking Apple Cider- a sweet book to cuddle under the covers with!

So many choices- ‘Eleanor and Park’ by Rainbow Rowell makes me want to smile and cry in equal measures so could be one I’d take under the covers with me, but equally ‘Carry On’ by the same author is also such a sweet, lovely book and the romance in it is incredible, in my opinion! 🙂

Jumping in a Leaf Pile- a book that reminds your childhood!

I loved any book by Jacqueline Wilson when I was younger- I was a proud member of the Jacqueline Wilson fan club- and even though now I see some of her books and realise they are all basically the same and are not completely accurate to real life, I loved them so much and they really got me reading- which is all that matters! I also loved Enid Blyton books (again, not on the realistic side….) and the ‘Malory Towers’ series was literally my life- I reeeeeally wanted to go to boarding school after reading them!

So there you go- my favourite things about Autumn and some brilliant Autumnal reads that will hopefully keep you busy this season!! P.S, hope you liked my cute Autumn sky picture 🙂 

For this tag I nominate:

Hannah Grace

Nini@Ninireadspng

Foxes and Fairytales

Midnightbiblioblog

Landofmilkandhoney94

Billyroanreads

Berryvillelibrary

Fictionophile

skyblubooktales

Hope that this was an enjoyable post for everyone and that you all enjoyed reading about my Autumn reads. I thought this was a brill idea for a tag so thank you again avathenerd for nominating me, it really has been so much fun. For those people I’ve nominated- there’s no pressure to do a post but I really think you’ll enjoy writing it, I certainly did!!

Happy reading! 🙂

Currently reading: ‘The Thousandth Floor’ by Katharine McGee

