Hi! I wasn’t actually tagged for this one, but My Tiny Obsessions kind of tagged me, so thought I’d give it a go, as it looks fun and I don’t want to do any more work. And for those who celebrate happy Christmas Eve! For those who don’t, hope you’re having a great day anyway! So, on with the tag…

On the first day of Christmas my true love sent to me, a partridge in a pear tree…

The partridge stood alone in the pear tree, what is your favourite stand alone?

It would have to be ‘Bitter Greens’ by Kate Forsyth- it’s a great book (if thick) and I just love the spin Forsyth puts on the traditional Rapunzel fairytale.

On the second day of Christmas my true love sent to me, two turtle doves…

Love is in the air, who is your one true pairing?

I love Demelza and Ross from the ‘Poldark’ series by Winston Graham, but Ross has recently fallen out of my favour. Oh well, no one’s perfect and I do think they’re a great couple.

On the third day of Christmas my true love sent to me, three French hens…

What is the best trilogy you’ve read?

The amount of trilogies I’ve read are limited, so my favourite would have to be the ‘Lone City’ series by Amy Ewing. They are three dystopian books and, although I normally switch off at the sound of dystopian fiction, they surprised me and I enjoyed them a lot!

On the fourth day of Christmas my true love sent to me, four calling birds…

Since series’ normally contain more than four books, what is your favourite series?

Again, I’ll have to go with the ‘Poldark’ series, by Winston Graham. Although I’ve not read all twelve (I know, TWELVE!) I do love them so far!

On the fifth day of Christmas my true love sent to me, five gold rings…

Who is your favourite villain?

Baz from ‘Carry On’ by Rainbow Rowell. He is not even a villain in my eyes, and when the narrative switches to his point of view I fell in love with the book. I mean, I’d already decided I liked it, but it was Baz’s character that made me LOVE it. I thought Simon was okay as a protagonist, if a bit annoying, but Baz really was the best for me!!

On the sixth day of Christmas my true love sent to me, six geese-a-laying…

Creation is a wonderful thing, what is your favourite world/world-building?

I would have to say ‘Rebecca’ by Daphne Du Maurier – the world Du Maurier creates is so beautiful and, although it isn’t technically a different world, Du Maurier makes me feel as though I am in the past, on a Cornish beach. ‘The Bees’ by Laline Paull is also amazing in the way it makes the reader believe they’re actually a bee, living in the hive world!

On the seventh day of Christmas my true love sent to me, seven swans-a-swimming…

What is your favourite animal side-kick?

Garrick from the ‘Poldark’ series by Winston Graham, of course 🙂

On the eighth day of Christmas my true love sent to me, eight maids-a-milking…

Which book talks about food a lot! 

‘Rebecca’ by Daphne Du Maurier has a lot of description of food, the description of food at the beginning, with the food the characters used to eat at Manderley, certainly makes my mouth water when I think of it…

“That feast was laid before us always, and yet we ate so little. Those dripping crumpets, I can see them now. Tiny crisp wedges of toast, and piping hot, floury scones. Sandwiches of unknown nature, mysteriously flavoured and quite delectable, and that very special gingerbread. Angel cake, that melted in the mouth, and his rather stodgier companion, bursting with peel and raisins. There was enough food there to keep a starving family for a week…”

On the ninth day of Christmas my true love sent to me, nine ladies dancing…

Dancing is just one skill for a lady! Name your favourite female protagonist!

Demelza from…. Yes, the ‘Poldark’ series by Winston Graham!! She is such an amazing woman, and amazing protagonist and I love her!

“I’m proud, and I’m strong and I’m fearless.”

On the tenth day of Christmas my true love sent to me, ten lords-a-leaping…

Name your favourite male protagonist!

I’m looking at my book shelf now and remembering all the amazing characters I always forget about, so I’m going to go for Zach, from ‘The Secret Life of Bees’ by Sue Monk Kidd. He’s such a cute guy, and a great character. It’s also a fab book!

On the eleventh day of Christmas my true love sent to me, eleven pipers piping…

What is your favourite book that references music?

Okay, I realise this is cheating, but I’m loving things to do with dancing at the moment after going to see the film ‘Ballerina’ with my sister at the cinema (it was amazing btw) so I’m going to go with ‘Ballet Shoes’ by Noel Streatfield. I suppose there is music in there that the girls dance to 😉 And she has a very appropriate name for the season.

On the twelfth day of Christmas my true love sent to me, twelve drummers drumming…

Drum roll please… What is your favourite book of the year?

‘Carry On’ by Rainbow Rowell– such a brilliant, funny, adorable book!!

I hope you enjoyed reading and have a very happy holiday! I tag anyone who wants to do this tag over the festive season… Or just anytime, it was really fun! 🙂

Happy reading!

Currently reading: ‘No et Moi’ par Delphine de Vigan

