I was nominated by the brilliant Princess Book Reviews and The Alice Fan for this award and I am so so so so happy- I am so proud and grateful that my blog has received this much attention- after reaching 100 followers! 🙂 I feel like I’ve really given this blog more work and I’m really enjoying everything that comes with the blogging experience! Thank you to these two amazing bloggers for nominating me, go check out their blogs right now! So, on with the award!!

The rules for this award are:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you.
  2. Answer the 11 questions they wrote for you (in my case I’ve done more because I was nominated by two different people).
  3. Nominate 11 people.
  4. Give them 11 different questions to answer!

The Alice Fan‘s Questions

If you can only read one book in your lifetime, what would it be?

I would say something like ‘Rebecca’ by Daphne Du Maurier, because it’s quite thick, exciting and there’s a little bit of something in there. I think I could actually live off the complete works of Daphne Du Maurier, she writes so many different genres. Technically that would be more than one book though 😉

What is your favourite genre in a novel?

I love historical novels but I’ll read just about everything- I love a good romance and classics are brilliant as well. It depends what mood I’m in really! I even indulge in a little teen fiction, even though I hate that phrase. What is teen fiction?!

Have you ever ‘forgotten’ in finishing a book after taking a break from it?

So many times haha 🙂 I can be a forgetful person when it comes to books!

Do you prefer classic literature or contemporary literature?

I like both! But if I had to choose, contemporary, just because there are more genres. I like both so much though, and it’s nice to mix it up!

If you could change one major event in any fictional novel, which book would it be, and which event?

Ooh, that is such a good question! The death at the end of ‘The Thousandth Floor’ hurt me so much, so maybe I would go for that at the moment, although the next book hasn’t come out yet, so maybe Katharine McGee finds a way to magically make the character come back to life?! 🙂 There are so many though, like Ross Poldark losing my confidence in the book ‘Warleggan’ by Winston Graham… Don’t want any spoilers, but that broke my heart!

What book possesses the highest amount of language difficulty for you to read?

Probably something classical, or maybe Shakespeare. Technically he only wrote poems and plays, but the language in them is still majorly difficult to understand. And, as an obvious, I’ve been reading ‘No et Moi’ by Delphine de Vigan and that’s in French, which I am only learning at the moment, so that would be much harder to read even than Shakespeare!

If you were to have one wish granted, what would it be? (Wishing for multiple wishes is prohibited).

I wish that nothing bad will happen to those I love. Cheesy, but what else is really worth wishing for. If we’re going for a less deep one, a place at the University of York haha….

Would you rather be a CEO of a major company or a famous writer?

Come on, do you even need to ask! I would love to be a famous writer, or even just make money out of writing like my mum does! Although saying that, I think it would be really cool to be the CEO of a company.

Who is your favourite villain/antagonist from a book or movie?

I say this every time but I just love Baz from ‘Carry On’ by Rainbow Rowell! He is just a brilliant villain and the parts written by him in the book are the very best!

Who is your least favourite?

I literally can’t think of one! If one comes to me I’ll add it later!

Choose one: infinite money or immortality? And why?

Ahhh, I don’t know! I always think it wouldn’t be great to live forever, as everyone you know would die around you and, typically, people who live forever do not get good lives! But people with crazy amounts of money also never seem happy either! I would say money, if no one else I love is living forever as well, because then I and the people I love can live in comfort and do loads of exciting things, so then even if I don’t live forever, I’ve still had a great life. Not that I couldn’t have a good life without infinite money, it’s just an exciting possibility if used the right way. I would also try to do loads for charities…

Princess Book Reviews‘ Questions!

If your life was a story, what would you name it?

That’s a difficult one- probably something like ‘Feminist battling against the world in search of good A-Level results and equality’ 🙂

What Disney character can’t you stand? Or hate the most?

Omg, I love Disney, how can I hate any of the characters!! I hate Ursula, but then I also think she’s pretty cool. I only really hate her because I adored Ariel (the film and character) when I was little, so maybe that’s why I’m against her. I’ll go with Ursula anyway, seeing as at one point she says something like “Men like girls that are silent anyway” while taking her voice, which annoyed me.

Do you ever read the last page of a novel before you get to that point? Why or why not?

No!!! I just can’t do it! I hate things to be spoiled and I’m always so disappointed when I get a book or TV programme spoiler, so I definitely don’t do self-inflicted spoiling!

What do you do to get out of a reading slump?

I’m in one of those at the moment, what with school work and everything I’m finding it hard to find the time to get some good reading done. My plan is to go to the library and get a good, light, basically pointless read that I can whizz through, that usually gets me out of the slump. Or I’ll get ‘Carry On’ by Rainbow Rowell out again, that would probably help as well. I tend to comfort read sometimes and this is one of those times.

What season is your favourite?

I like all the seasons, they’re great for different reasons. But my favourites are Summer and Autumn, just because Summer in England is like a miracle (if it’s warm) and Autumn just feels all cosy and cute. And I love the colours of Autumn.

Do you binge watch things or prefer to watch things nice and slow?

I wish I could watch things slow, but if there’s already a whole series on Netflix, I tend to binge more 😦 But I do watch some programmes where there ate only one on a week, so that makes me stay restricted and keeps me waiting, which is good as well. I wish I would slow down the pace on Gilmore Girls…

Do you use any social media? And if so, what’s your favourite?

I’m not a massive social media fan, but I have Facebook and that’s good for me- I can talk to my friends and group chats mean we can speak all at once. I’m not really that interested in getting any of the others!

What was the last book that instantly became a favourite?

Review: ‘Jamaica Inn’ by Daphne Du Maurier I think! It’s just so cute/good!

If you could only wear one colour for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Wow, interesting question! I’m wearing all blue now, and I feel like blue is a neutral colour, and it has lots of shades so I could mix and match shades of blue 😉

When do you do most of your reading?

Just before I go to sleep, it’s the only time I really have when I’m not doing school work or watching TV to relax from the school work.

Has there ever been a book that has made you want to stop reading?

I once read this book called ‘Shift’ by Kim Curran, ages ago, and that had loads of graphic description in and so I stopped reading it. I wasn’t that keen on it anyway.

Thanks again for the nominations, I now nominate:

lilbooklovers/ Elou Carroll/ teenbooklit101// Raven Avery/ Moz of Cracked Spine Blog/ SophietheStark/ Marie Christine/ Book Fandom 1001/ Words and Warpaint/ Poetry Nerds Unite/ Evy Reads Books.

These are all blogs that I’ve found recently and I love them so much!! I really hope you all enjoy doing the post, if you want to do it, you definitely all deserve the award. The questions to answer are below, sorry if they’re not that original! 🙂

My Questions:

  1. What three words best describe your reading habits?
  2. On average, how many books do you read a month?
  3. If you could visit any time in the past, where would you go and what would you do?
  4. Which character in a book has the same name as you?
  5. What is your best reading memory?
  6. Who is your favourite classical author (if you have one!)?
  7. If you could only have one type of weather forever, what would it be?
  8. If you could only wear one outfit for the rest of your life, what would you choose?
  9. If you could swap places with one character from a book, which character would it be and from which book?
  10. Have you ever borrowed a book and never given it back? Or has someone borrowed your book and not given it back?
  11. Cats or dogs?

Thanks for reading and thank you so much again for the nominations! I enjoyed doing the award so much and I really appreciate it! 🙂 To those I’ve nominated, have fun answering the questions, I look forward to reading your answers. As always, no worries if you don’t want to participate! 🙂

Last thing, check out: Writer in Residence Blog for loads of great writing posts, as well as the opportunity to do an online writing course with a published writer! Definitely worth a click on that link above 😉

Currently reading: ‘Sylvia’s Lovers’ by Elizabeth Gaskell

