Hi! This is just a quick post as I’m supposed to be revising for an exam tomorrow, but I just had some inspiration… and thought I deserved a break anyway 😉 If you want to check out some of the stuff I’ve been up to on my blog recently, click here!

So, today is World Penguin Day! Happy World Penguin Day!

So this is a post all about penguins!! How is this book related, I hear you ask?! Well, I never specified which kind of penguin I would be writing about… Perhaps it’s a tenuous link, but these are books that I would really like to try, that have been published by Penguin Classics. See the connection? 😉

1. ‘Vanity Fair’ by William Makepeace Thackeray

I really want to read this book- it sounds great and I really enjoyed watching the film, so I think I’d enjoy the book as well! I’ve also seen this book on a lot of people’s favourite classic lists, and so I’m really looking forward to reading it!

2. ‘Women in Love’ by D. H. Lawrence

I read ‘Lady Chatterley’s Lover’ by the same author because I wanted to see what all the hype was about. I thought it was okay, but I’d really like to try something else by Lawrence and I’m intrigued by his writing.

3. ‘North and South’ by Elizabeth Gaskell

This book is about a young woman who is forced to move North, despite the fact that she loves her home in the South of the country. In the North, she finds it hard to fit in, and makes an ‘enemy’ of the factory owner Mr Thornton, who is very loyal about the North. Basically, it’s your typical North/South divide and, as a loyal Northerner, I can’t help but love Mr Thornton! I only know all of this because I watched the series on Netflix, however, so I would now really like to read the book!

4. ‘The Awakening’ by Kate Chopin

I started reading this a while ago and I would really like to finish it, as it’s a relatively modern feminist classic that often gets over-looked. It’s also one of my mum’s favourites! 🙂

5. ‘The Tenant of Wildfell Hall’ by Anne Bronte

Anne Bronte is always over-looked in history and literature- everyone knows Emily and Charlotte, but Anne also published lots of poems and books (she probably would have published more if Charlotte had let her…) and this book sounds so feminist, so much more feminist than ‘Jane Eyre’!

I love Penguin Classics- they’re so beautiful and the covers are so appealing, even if the stories they hold are not what you want! I really can’t wait to read these books when I’ve finished my exams in the summer, maybe a few reviews of them will appear….

What are your favourite classics (Penguin or otherwise)? What classics would you like to read in the future, maybe when you’ve finished studying or have more spare time?

Happy reading!

Currently reading: ‘The Little Coffee Shop of Kabul’ by Deborah Roderiguz

(Picture c/o: https://www.funnypica.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/07/Funny-Penguin-Pictures-5-570×499.com)

