Hi again! I was tagged by Book Princess Reviews for this brilliant-sounding tag, and Zuky@BookBum, as well as Book Princess Reviews, also created this brilliant tag, so a double shout out to them! It’s just the sort of revision break I need, so thanks for the tag! Go check out their amazing blogs now for lots of cool, book-ish, Disney-related posts! 🙂

So, on with the tag…. I’ve always loved the Disney princesses, so this should be a fun tag!

The Rules

  • Thank and provide a link to whoever tagged you
  • Tag Book Princess Reviews and Zuky with our posts so we can check out the wonderful Princess fun throughout the blog world (check out my links above to connect directly to their posts!)
  • Play a game of tag at the end- tag lots of other bloggers to join in the Disney fun!

For the original graphics and layout, check out either the Book Princess or Zuky’s original post by clicking the links above!

Snow White: This book (like the film) started it all

Favourite debut book from an author.

Image result for snow white

I would have to say ‘The Bees’ by Laline Paull, just because this book is so brilliantly written and the story is so beautifully crafted, that I couldn’t choose anything else. I can’t wait to read anything else Laline Paull writes, and so this debut novel did the thing debut novels do best: it made me want to read more!

Cinderella: A diamond in the rough

Just like Cinderella, you did not expect much out of this character in the beginning, but they turned out to be a total gem.

Image result for cinderella

Hmmm, I would probably say Baz from ‘Carry On’ by Rainbow Rowell. I know I always talk about him, but the fact that he was spoken about in such negative terms before his point of view began made me build up this image of him as a bit of an idiot, but then his point of view started and I fell in love with this character. I just think his role in the book made me fall in love with it (and him ;))

Aurora: Sleeping Beauty

A book that made you sleepy or just could not hold your attention.

Image result for aurora princess

Sometimes I start a book when I’m really busy, like at the moment when I’m revising for exams, and it just can’t hold my attention because I’m doing other things at the same time (not literally, as in I don’t have much time for reading). I would probably say ‘The Mill on the Floss’ by George Eliot- I eventually finished it and it was okay, but I just could not get into it at all.

Ariel: Under the sea

A book with an ocean or sea setting.

Image result for areil

I love Ariel, she’s my favourite princess! I can’t recall reading any books that were set under the sea, but the latest book I read that was set by the sea was probably one of the Poldark series- they’re all set in Cornwall.

Belle: Beauty and the Books

Name a book with the best book-lover/book worm.

Image result for belle

It’s got to be Hermione in Harry Potter! She’s just so cool and I love how sassy and intelligent she is! I also have hair like her, so that made World Book Day easy 😉

Jasmine: The thief and the princess

Name a book with an unlikely love story (either in terms of romance or a book you didn’t expect to love as much).

 

Image result for jasmine
Love that sassy, cynical look 😉

I’m sorry, it’s got to be ‘Carry On’ by Rainbow Rowell- I did not expect to love that book as much as I did (I’m still not 100% why I love it, it’s really not my type of book), and the romance in that is also super unexpected! I really need to expand my reading, otherwise ‘Carry On’ is going to be my answer to everything!

Pocahontas: A real princess

Name a book based on a real person you really want to read/have read.

Image result for pocahontus

I read Karren Brady’s autobiography a while back, which I found really interesting. It wasn’t completely up to date, as I think it was written in 2014, but I found her messages regarding the running of a business and the determination that is central to success really interesting. Karren Brady is such a strong woman, and her book certainly projects her strong, determined attitude.

Mulan: The princess that saved her country

Name the fiercest heroine you know.

Image result for mulan

There are so many heroines in books I read, and if a book features a strong and independent woman, it calls out to me. I recently read ‘The Remarkable Journey of Miss Tranby Quirke’ by Elizabeth Ridley, which featured an unexpected heroine, and so I think that Tranby in that doesn’t consider herself a heroine, but she is from my point of view. Demelza from the Poldark books is also my number one favourite character, and she has to put up with a lot married to Ross. Her sassiness is also on another level… I can think of quite a few more, but I’ll save them for another post.

Tiana: The princess with the most diverse crew

Name a diverse book, whether it is a diverse set of characters (like Tiana’s group of Naveen, Louis, Ray and more), or just diverse in general.

Image result for tiana

‘Everyday’ by David Lethiman. In this book, the main character inhabits a different body every day, and so naturally the array of characters are diverse, and I thought this was a really interesting idea for a book, with lots of different characters (in a way) and lots of different perceptions were shown of different people.

Rapunzel: Let your looong hair down

Name the longest book you’ve ever read.

Image result for rapanzul

I think I’d have to say ‘Testament of Youth’ by Vera Brittain- it is such a long book to read!

Merida: I determine my own fate

A book where no love story/interest is needed.

Image result for merdia

This is a difficult one, I love a good love interest or love story, I think they make books really interesting and enjoyable, so I don’t read that many books that don’t have a love interest somewhere down the line. I’ll go for ‘Birthmarked’ by Caragh O’Brien- as far as I can remember this did not have a love interest, although I did read it a bit ago!

Anna/Elsa: Frozen heart

A book in a winter/frozen setting.

Image result for anna and elsa

‘Between Shades of Gray’ by Ruta Sepetys- I believe that this was set in a cold area of the world- it was certainly a good book!

Moana: How far I’ll go

A character that goes on a journey.

Image result for moana

I’d probably say something like Harry Potter- I don’t read many adventure stories, so this would probably be the best I could come up with, although I suppose ‘Carry On’ by Rainbow Rowell is also kind of adventure/fantasy. If we’re going for something a bit more deep, Esther in ‘The Bell Jar’ undergoes a mental journey 😉

My Nominations

The Orangutan Librarian / Eva@brilliantlybookish / Kristin Kraves Books /Nadwa@Painfully Fictional / Darque Dreamer Reads / Birdie

That was so much fun, thank you again for the nomination, I always enjoy something that mixes Disney and books! Hopefully soon you’ll see some actual review and other exciting book related stuff, but I’m trying to hold myself off until after exams! I do have a lot of ideas bubbling though…. 🙂

Happy reading!

Currently reading: ‘The Crucible’ by Arthur Miller

 

All images c/o: google images. I do not own the rights to any of these pictures!

