Hi! A bit ago I was tagged by The Orangutan Library to do this tag, and it looked really fun, so thank you so much for the tag, go check out their blog as soon as you can! 🙂

So, on with the tag… If anyone knows who created this tag let me know and I’ll tag them in!

1. Find a book on your shelves with a blue cover. What made you pick up the  book in the first place?

‘The Fault in our Stars’ by John Green. I picked this book up from the bookshop because of all the hype surrounding it, and I wanted to see what everyone was talking about! It was one of those books that actually, for me, lived up to the hype, and I really enjoyed reading it.

2. Think of a book you didn’t expect to enjoy but did. Why did you read it in the first place?

‘The Jewel’ by Amy Ewing. I read it because of the cover, I have no shame in saying that! I really liked the dress the woman on the front was wearing, as frivolous as that sounds, and the cover just caught me attention. I’m glad I was so shallow though, because this was a really empowering book for women, and certainly showed me that even dystopian fiction (not my favourite genre) can be incredibly enjoyable!

3. Stand in front of your bookshelf with your eyes closed and pick up a book at random. How did you discover this book?

‘Some Girls, Some Hats and Hitler’ by Trudi Kanter. I discovered this book at a charity shop, and it seemed interesting, especially to a history lover like me, so I gave it a go!

4. Pick a book that someone personally recommended to you. What did you think of it?

My mum recommended ‘Hideous Kinky’ by Esther Freud to me a couple of days ago, and I found it a really easy read. I don’t have any strong feelings of either hatred or love towards the book, but it was a good read!

5. Pick a book you discovered through book blogs. Did it live up to the hype?

Ooh, this is a good one! I read ‘Cinder’ by Marissa Meyer a couple of weeks ago on the recommendation of tonnes of book bloggers, and unfortunately I was not keen at all. The story was unimaginative, the characters weren’t very rounded, and I just found the whole plot disappointing and unimaginative, when I normally love fairytale re-tellings.

6. Find a book on your shelves with a one word title. What drew you to this book?

‘Demelza’ by Winston Graham. I first read this book, because I had read the book that came before it- ‘Ross Poldark’- and had enjoyed it. I originally started the series though because of the recent TV series called ‘Poldark’ on the BBC, and so I suppose what drew me to this book was watching the series!

7. What book did you discover through a film/TV adaptation?

Ooh, so many! I’m going to say ‘The Circle’ by Dave Eggers. I’ve not actually read this before, I can’t seem to find it on the library catalogue, but it sounds really interesting, and I discovered it by watching the film trailer for ‘The Circle’ film.

8. Think of your all-time favourite books. When did you read these and why did you pick them up in the first place?

‘Carry On’ by Rainbow Rowell- I liked ‘Eleanor and Park’ by the same author and I thought the blurb sounded really intriguing! I read this book last summer, and it always reminds me of lazy, warm summer days, walking through the woods and enjoying my free time.

‘Bitter Greens’ by Kate Forsyth- I asked for this for my birthday a couple of years ago because it just had such a lovely cover, and I love books based on well-known fairytales. The cover really is beautiful (I’ve set it as the picture of this tag, just because it’s too beautiful!!). This book reminds me of summer and my birthday, as I read it for my birthday a couple of years back.

‘Rebecca’ by Daphne du Maurier- I picked this book up because it looked interesting and mysterious, and also because my mum recommended it. I also read it in summer (there’s a theme here) and I really enjoyed it. I plan on reading it while on holiday at the beach this year, as it’s a great holiday read.

‘The Bell Jar’ by Sylvia Plath- This book had been one of those books that I wanted to read for ages, mainly because it was recommended by my mum, and because it is a revered text, particularly in terms of feminism. I read it last year around June (I read the majority of my books in summer because I have more time off from school, and I feel like books that I read in summer just have great connotations, so that could be why they’re often my favourites). I loved this book so much that I used it for my piece of English Literature coursework.

I tag…

Kristin Kraves Books / Zuky@ the bookbum / a thousand lives 01 / Kookbookery / Nadwa@Painfully Fictional / Kester@lilbooklovers / Fandomly Bookish

That was really fun! Thank you again for the nomination, I hope everyone enjoys doing the tag, if they want to of course! 🙂

Happy reading!

Currently reading: ‘Rebecca’ by Daphne du Maurier

