Hi again! This is my third Worldwide Wednesday, a series I’ve started doing every Wednesday where I choose a book associated with a certain country! Last week’s book was focussed on Morocco. Today we’re travelling even further afield (for me!) to… China!

I know it’s kind of cheating to feature another book that only really relates to the country because of its setting, maybe next week I’ll choose a book that has a deeper connection to the country, but oh well! I have chosen ‘Cinder’ by Marissa Meyer as the book to feature in the series this week, as I read it recently!

Unlike many on the blogosphere, who love this book, I was not overly impressed by it, and currently I’m failing to see why people love it so much. I thought that the storyline was not very original, in my opinion, and as soon as it became clear that this novel was about a missing princess, I was worried the book would be predictable…and it was. All the way through I hoped that the storyline would become less predictable, and something exciting would happen, but this never happened, and it just ended up being predictable and, frankly, dull. Not many people share this opinion, however, so I’m inclined to think that I’m the weird one in this situation!

This book is set in Beijing, China, and I thought that the setting of the novel was a really important element, as it really exaggerated the technology-focus of the dystopian world Meyer created. I see China as being a place full of technology and new advancements, also due to its large population and buzzing cities, and so I thought that the fact that Cinder was half Cyborg, and that technology was such an important part of the book, meant that the setting of China was an important aspect of the book, and really made this technology focus stand out!

I also wasn’t keen on the characterisation in this novel. I thought Cinder’s character wasn’t very interesting, and I would have liked a bit more depth to her character. However, I did really like the character of Prince Kai, and I thought that his character was more rounded, with his sarcastic attitude and human outlook towards the issues with Queen Lunar showing the complexity of his character compared with Cinder’s.

Overall clearly I was not a massive fan of this book, particularly because I had high expectations, and because I’m a massive fan of fairytales and fairytale re-tellings! However, there were some things I liked about the book, and I think that the setting of China was a really integral part of the book, hence me choosing it for my third Worldwide Wednesday!

I hope you enjoyed reading my third Worldwide Wednesday! Although this was not a book I really liked, it is a book that holds a great connection to a certain country, and there were aspects of the novel that I enjoyed! Feel free to join in with this series, just create your own Worldwide Wednesday post, choosing a book that has relation to a certain country!

Happy reading!

Currently reading: ‘The House on the Strand’ by Daphne du Maurier

